Home  →  Oceania


Commonwealth of Australia

States and Agglomerations

The states and territories of Australia as well as all "significant urban areas" according to the definition of 2016.


Major Urban Centers

All Urban Centers and Localities

The census population of all urban centers and localities in the states and territories according to the censuses 2001, 2006, 2011 & 2016:

Administrative Division: Local Government Areas

The estimated resident population of the Australian states and local government areas (LGAs).

Statistical Areas of Agglomerations

The estimated resident population (1991, 1996, 2001, 2006, 2011, 2016 & 2017) of the statistical areas (level 2) of following agglomerations (significant urban areas) according to the definition of 2016:

External Territories of Australia

Christmas Island

The census population of the Christmas Island and its capital (estimated total population: → Administrative Division).

Cocos Islands

The census population of the Cocos (Keeling) Islands and settlements (estimated total population: → Administrative Division).

Norfolk Island

The census population of the Territory of Norfolk Island (estimated total population: → Administrative Division).

Other Territories

The Territory of Ashmore and Cartier Islands, the Coral Sea Islands Territory and the Territory of Heard Island and McDonald Islands have no permanent population. The only exception is Willis Island of the Coral Sea Islands with 4 technical officers.